Homeschooling: Phew! A Few Weeks Down

So I’ve found that doing a college style block system works best. We do between 1-3 subjects Monday, Wednesday, Friday and the other 1-3 on Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday. (Yeah, I’m harsh making him do work on the weekend; ha!)

This seems to really help with him not getting burnt out on any one subject.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As a “reluctant reader,” I have found that the combination of audiobook & book works so great!! Especially when they are books about Babe Ruth– he finished it within 1.5 days. We take turns with just-for-fun reads and classic literature.

Life skills: Keyboarding (two hands, please!) . Laundry (so my future-daughter-in-law doesn’t hate me), and we did budgeting and check writing (but our exact address was visible so I didn’t post it)

The old-school “Schoolhouse Rock” — I  love it!!

We have already covered local/state/federal government, reading maps, Nouns, Math rounding, and Nutrition (myplate). He had a blast with the nutrition!!

We even threw in a weekend of having his best guy friend over for some “socialization.” We’ve been doing a lot of character study which has included proper interaction with friends and proper communication techniques when you are angry so I thought having someone over would be a really great chance for him to practice it. He did great!

2 responses

"For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them." (Matthew 18:20)

